Membership and organisation

Membership is currently based on country representation, however members do not formally represent their country. Members have to be in a formal and active position to provide science-based strategic advice to their democratic governments. Members are one individual for each of the European Union member states, nominated by the respective government. Scientific advisors of the European Union candidate states and those representing scientific advisory bodies of the European Union institutions and of specific strategic countries can be invited to join ESAF as Associate Members. Members and Associate Members are committed to ensure an inclusive exchange with other relevant actors that provide scientific advice within their respective countries. Members and Associate Members are committed to engage in the ongoing discussions within ESAF and to contribute in good faith to the general advancement of the science-based advisory process in Europe, particularly in situations of crisis.

List of members

AustriaAustrian Academy of sciencesProf. Heinz Fassman

BelgiumAcademie Royale de BelgiqueProf. Didier Viviers
BelgiumRoyal Flemish Academy of Belgium for Science and the ArtsProf. Joos Vandewalle
BulgariaBulgarian Academy of SciencesProf. Julian Revalski
CroatiaUniversity of Zagreb, Faculty of Economics & BusinessProf. Alen Stojanović
CyprusChief Scientist for Research, Innovation and Technology of the Republic of CyprusMr. Demetris Skourides
Czech RepublicResearch, Development and Innovation Council of the Czech RepublicProf. Vladimir Mařík
DenmarkDanish Council for Research and Innovation PolicyProf. Frede Blaabjerg
EstoniaEstonian Academy of ScienceProf. Tarmo Soomere
FinlandSecretariat for the Research and Innovation Council - Ministry of Education and CultureDr. Jussi Alho
FranceAcademy of SciencesDr. Francis-André Wollman
GermanyGerman Academy of Science LeopoldinaProf. Gerald Haug
GreeceTo be nominatedTo be nominated
HungaryHungarian Research Network
Dr. István Szabó
IrelandTo be nominatedTo be nominated
ItalyNational Research Council of ItalyProf. Maria Chiara Carrozza
LatviaUniversity of Latvia, Department of Physics
Dr. Guntars Kitenbergs
LithuaniaResearch Council of Lithuania Dr. Gintaras Valinčius
LuxembourgTo be nominatedTo be nominated
MaltaThe Malta Council for Science and Technology.Dr. Jennifer Cassingena Harper

NetherlandsRoyal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW).Prof. Marileen Dogterom
PolandInternational Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology in Warsaw Prof. Janusz M.Bujnicki
PortugalPortuguese Foundation for Science and Technology

Prof. Maria Madalena dos Santos Alves
RomaniaRomanian Consultative Body for Research Technological Development and InnovationProf. Octavian Mădălin Bunoiu
SlovakiaSlovak Academy of Sciences.Dr. Zuzana Panczová
SloveniaScientific Council of the Slovenian Research Agency Prof. Marko Topić
SpainBarcelona Supercomputing Center Prof. Enric Banda
SwedenSwedish Research CouncilProf. Katarina Bjelke

List of associate members

NetherlandsNetherlands Scientific Council for Government Policy (WRR)Prof. Corien Prins
European CommissionDG for Research and Innovation, Unit Science for Policy, Advice and EthicsDr. Karen Fabbri

List of permanent representives

DenmarkHead of Secretariat, Danish Council for Research and Innovation PolicyDr. Thomas Trøst Hansen
ItalyNational Research Council of ItalyDr. Massimo Spadoni
European CommissionDG for Research and Innovation, Deputy Director-General for People, Planet and Science for PolicyDr. Alessandro Allegra